Macbeth Characters List

Read this article to know about Macbeth characters.

 macbeth character list

Macbeth Characters List

King Duncan: He is the king of Scotland. He is very gentle and kind. He has two sons, Malcolm and Donalbain. He has grown old now & is going to make his son (Malcolm) the heir of throne.

Malcolm: He is the son of Duncan. At the end of the play he becomes the king of Scotland and also brings peace.

Macbeth: He is one of the generals of King Duncan. He is very brave, loyal and ambitious. He is initially Thane of Glamis, then becomes Thane of Cawdor & ultimately becomes king by killing king Duncan. He is not realistic & remains in imaginations. In the beginning of the play, he bravely defeats the Thane of Cawdor & Macdownald, who rose against the king with the help of the king of Norway. All praise him for his bravery and loyalty.

You may also like:

  1. Summary of Macbeth
  2. Tragic Flaws in Macbeth
  3. Summary of A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare
  4. As You Like It by William Shakespeare Summary
  5. Julius Caesar Characters by William Shakespeare

Lady Macbeth: She is the wife of Macbeth. She is more ambitious than her husband. She is considered to be the 4th witch in the play, as she plays a significant role in ruining his husband. As compared to his husband, she is realist.

Banquo: He is the second important general of King Duncan. He is also very brave. He remains loyal and honest till his murder. He is the father of Fleance.

Macduff: He is the 3rd important general of Duncan. He is born of no woman as, he was taken out from his mother’s womb in the pre-natal stage. Later on, he kills the tyrant Macbeth. He has a wife & children who are mercilessly murdered by Macbeth.

Ross and Agnes: The have not a significant role in the play. They just pass messages from one person to other.

Three Witches: They predict the future of Macbeth thus compelling him to commit crimes that ultimately lead to his death.

Leave a comment