10 lines on Jnanpith Award in English

  1. The literary award was established in 1961 by Bharatiya Jnanpith. 
  2. Only Indian authors are considered for this award.
  3. The award is given for work in 22 Indian languages and English.
  4. The award was established by Sahu Shanti Prasad Jain.
  5. The award includes 11 lakh rupees as prize money.
  6. The plaque of the goddess Saraswati which is a replica of the temple in Malwa.
  7.  G. Sankara Kurup was the first to receive the award.
  8.  The award is not given posthumously.
  9. Akkitham Achuthan Namboothiri received the award for his work in the Malayalam language in 2019.
  10. Jnanpith award now recognises the lifetime work of the author by this award.